District Level and Other

Road Safety Committees

On the lines of various State Level Committees on road safety, few committees have also been constituted at District and other levels. The primary task of these committees is to review the road safety initiatives being taken at different levels. The State Level Road Safety Committees from time to time provide directions through the Lead Agency to the districts for compliance which is then implemented by the stakeholder departments. The details of these committees is elaborated in the subsequent section.

District Level and Other Road Safety Committees

  1. District Road Safety Committee
    The District Road Safety Committee was earlier District Traffic Management Committee that was Chaired by the District Collector. By a recent direction of the Hon'ble Supreme Court Committee on Road Safety DTMC was dissolved and in place District Road Safety Committee was constituted which is Chaired by the District Collector and Superintendent Engineer, PWD has been given the ex-officio charge as the Member Secretary of the committee. The Order for constitution of the committee was issued by the Government on 05.07.2022 and later by the provision specified in section 215(3) of the Motor Vehicles Act, it was notified vide Gazette Notification.
  2. District Road Safety Cell
    For effective inter departmental coordination among the stakeholder departments, District Road Safety Cell was constituted in each district vide order No. 37173 dated 06.06.2017.
  3. Parliamentary Constituency Committee for Road Safety
    This committee was constituted by Ministry of Road Transport and Highways (MoRTH), Government of India vide Gazette Notification No. RT-25043/03/2017 – RS dated 28.09.2017 under the Chairmanship of Hon'ble Member of Parliament (Lok Sabha). Then the committee was named as District Road Safety Committee. Vide another notification issued by the Ministry on 30.08.2019 the committee was renamed as Parliamentary Constituency Committee for Road Safety. The Composition, Terms of Reference and other provisions of the Committee has been kept unaltered.
  4. Sub Divisional Committee
    The Sub Divisional Committee is chaired the Sub Divisional Magistrate to monitor the road safety activities at the lower level. The committee was constituted on 18.07.2016.